Democrats Flip Loudoun Board of Supervisors Majority

After a day of steady voting across Loudoun County, the fate of 70 candidates seeking elective office at the local and state levels is in the hands of vote counters.

More than 41 percent of the county’s 258,034 registered voters participated in today’s balloting for members of the Board of Supervisors, School Board, four constitutional offices, the House of Delegate, state Senate and the Soil and Water Conservation District board. Voters also were asked to authorize bond financing for school and county government construction projects. 

Democrats have seized control of the county Board of Supervisors, flipping Republicans’ 6-3 majority upside-down with a series of decisive victories across the county.

Dulles Supervisor Matthew F. Letourneau (R) and Blue Ridge Supervisor Tony R. Buffington (R-Blue Ridge) were the only Republican supervisors to successfully defend their seats. They will be joined by new supervisor Caleb A. Kershner in the Catoctin District.

 Democrats, meanwhile, held onto every seat they already controlled and added three more to their caucus. Chairwoman Phyllis J. Randall (D-At Large) and supervisors Koran T. Saines (D-Sterling) and Kristen C. Umstattd (D-Leesburg) will return to their seats for a second term. Umstattd ran unopposed; both Randall and Saines posted commanding numbers.

They will be joined by fellow Democrats Juli E. Briskman, Algonkian; Michael R. “Mike” Turner, Ashburn; and Sylvia Russell Glass, Broad Run.

Democrats also pried one local constitutional office out of Republican hands in a tight race between Republican and current Commonwealth’s Attorney M. Nicole Wittman and Democratic challenger Buta Biberaj. According to preliminary results, Biberaj beat Wittman by only 1,315 votes, less than 2 percent of the vote. That is within recount territory. 

            Meanwhile Republicans held onto the other constitutional offices. Sheriff Michael L. “Mike” Chapman, Commissioner of the Revenue Robert S. “Bob” Wertz Jr., and Treasurer H. Roger Zurn Jr. will all keep their jobs. Clerk of the Circuit Court Gary Clemens has an eight-year term and does not face election this year. Of those, Zurn, Loudoun’s longest-serving elected official, posted the strongest result. He finished ahead of Democratic challenger Kannan Srinivasan 58,763 to 42,655, a nearly 16-percentage-point spread.

At 8:30 p.m. with 96 percent of precincts reporting:

In the Board of Supervisors’ race, incumbent Chairwoman Phyllis J. Randall (D) is leading with more than 54 percent of the vote in a three-way contest with Republican John C.L. Whitbeck (37.8%) and independent Robert J. Ohneiser (3.9%).

Incumbent Republican Suzanne Volpe (44.3%) trails Democrat Juli E. Brickman (52.39%) in the Algonkian District.

Two other incumbent Republicans, Tony Buffington (Blue Ridge) and Matthew F. Letourneau (Dulles) are leading their races, as is incumbent Democrat Koran T. Saines (Sterling). Leesburg District Supervisor Kristen Umstattd is running unopposed.

In the board races without an incumbent candidate, Democrats are leading in two and a Republican in one.

In Ashburn, Democrat Michael R. Turner (57.8%) leads D.M. “Mick” Staton (37.8%)

In Broad Run, Democrat Sylvia Russell Glass (57%) leads James G. Bonfils (38.8%).

In Catoctin, Republican Caleb A. Kershner (45%) leads Democrat Forest Hayes (34%) and independent Sam R. Kroiz (17%).

General Assembly

In the General Assembly races Democrats have the edge.

Democrat John Bell is ahead of Republican Geary Higgins in the race to claim current Sen. Dick Black’s 13th District State Senate seat. Bell is leading Higgins 53 percent to 46 percent in Loudoun.

Incumbent Sen. Jennifer Boysko (D-33) is ahead of Republican challenger Suzanne Fox in her first re-election race since winning a special election in January. Boysko is thus far beating Fox by a 62 percent to 37 percent margin. 

Democrat Wendy Gooditis, also in her first re-election bid, is ahead of Republican Randy Minchew in the 10th District House of Delegates race. Gooditis, who defeated Minchew two years ago as the challenger, has 55 percent of the vote in Loudoun, while Minchew has just under 44 percent. The 10th District also includes portions of Clarke and Frederick counties.

Democrat Suhas Subramanyam is ahead of Republican William “Bill” Drennan, Jr., with 63 percent of the vote in the 87th House District race. That seat is currently held by Bell.

Democrat Del. Kathleen Murphy is ahead of Republican challenger Gary Pan in the 34th House District race, which predominantly falls within Fairfax County, with just a handful of precincts in Loudoun.

In Loudoun, Republican Sen. Jill Vogel is slightly ahead of challenger Ronnie Ross (D) in a bid to hold onto the 27th District Senate seat she’s held since 2007. Vogel currently has 52 percent of the vote in Loudoun, while Ross has 47 percent. The 27th District includes Clarke County, Frederick County, and portions of Fauquier County.

Del. David LaRock is thus far holding off challenger Mavis Taintor in the 33rd District House race. LaRock, the Republican incumbent, is ahead of Taintor 54 percent to 45 percent. The district also includes portions of Clarke County.

Other General Assembly races in Loudoun include several uncontested campaigns. Sen. Barbara Favola (D-31), Del. David Reid (D-32), Del. Ibraheem Samirah (D-86), and Del. Karrie Delaney (D-67) are all running unopposed.

Constitutional Offices

Incumbents in the Constitutional office races have strong leads, but the candidates for the open Commonwealth’s Attorney’s seat are in a tight race. Democrat Buta Biberaj has built a slight lead over Republican M. Nicole Wittmann, 49% to 47.85%.

Incumbent Sheriff Mike Chapman (R) leads over Democrat Justin P. Hannah 53.5% to 43.4%.

Incumbent Treasurer H. Roger Zurn (R) leads Democrat Kannan Srinvasan, 56.6% to 40.1%.

Incumbent Commissioner of he Revenue Robert S. Wertz (R) leads Democrat Sri S. Amudhanar 54% to 42%.

School Board

In Loudoun’s School Board election, only three incumbents sought reelection. One of those may be headed for a surprising loss.

Board Chairman Jeff E. Morse (Dulles) is unopposed.

Sterling District incumbent Brenda L. Sheridan has a strong lead over Mike J. Neely, 58% to 36%.

In the Ashburn District, incumbent Eric D. Hornberger trails Harris Mahedavi 39,7% to 47.4%.

In the contests for open seats, Denise R. Corbo (45%) leads the three-way race for the countywide at-large seat. Atoosa R. Reaser (51%) leads Melanie F. Turner (42.5%) in Algonkian; Ian J. Serotkin (52.2%) leads in Blue Ridge; Leelee M. King (53.2%) leads in Broad Run; John P. Beatty (40.4) leads the three-way race in Catoctin; and Beth R. Barts (52%) leads in Leesburg.

One thought on “Democrats Flip Loudoun Board of Supervisors Majority

  • 2019-11-05 at 11:46 pm

    The residents spoke loud and clear regarding those elected officials who have either ignored or have addressed the single-most dangerous road in Loudoun County.

    Chair Phyllis Randall, Supervisor Kristen Umstattd and Delegate David LaRock have spoke out at numerous Northern Virginia Transportation Authority (NVTA), VDOT Smartscale and Loudoun Board meetings to fund the widening of Route 15, add shoulders and put in a center-line median strip! All 3 of these officials were elected.

    Retiring Supervisor Geary Higgins was not elected to the open Senate District 13 seat. Higgins, after a 2 year Route 15 Stakeholder Committee process, where the consultants and safety engineers recommended to 4-lane, add shoulders and a median strip – voted against it the recommendation!

    Failing to protect the residents, families and school children traveling along Route 15 has consequences! It is called the “Political Graveyard” and should serve as a stark warning that Catoctin Lives Matter!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: