Virts Elected President of Loudoun Museum; Board Expands

The Loudoun Museum has expanded its board of trustees, and entrepreneur and philanthropist Sharon Virts has been elected chairwoman and president of the board.

At its annual meeting on Tuesday at Odd Fellows Hall, trustees unanimously approved the slate of candidates recommended by the Museum’s Nominating Committee.

Immediately after the annual meeting, the board elected its new officers, including Virts, the former vice president and vice chairwoman. She is joined by Vice President/Vice Chairman Omari Faulkner, Secretary Sally Travis, and Treasurer Will Thomas.

“The Trustees of the Loudoun Museum are active leaders in our community with passion and

Sharon Virts

the vision necessary to transform the museum into a historical center that serves the entire community,” Virts stated. “The Loudoun Museum now has a powerhouse board with complementary skills to take us to the next level of the museum’s evolution.”

“I am honored and excited to work with this group of dynamic leaders to assist in the execution of our mission to discover, conserve, interpret, and disseminate knowledge of Loudoun’s culture and history,” stated museum director Joe Rizzo. “I am looking forward to working with these trustees as well as with our stakeholders, partners and the community as we transform the museum and advance our mission.”

The new board members trustees are:

  • Brandon Elledge, a partner at Holland & Knight law firm in Tyson and a director on the Community Foundation for Northern Virginia’s board, Holland & Knight Charitable Foundation, Loudoun Impact Fund and serves on the Purcellville Lions Club Scholarship Trust Committee;
  • Omari Faulkner, an author and founder of O Street International, a nonprofit organization that supports innovative cultural and educational programs, also serves on the boards of Georgetown University, the Loudoun Education Foundation and on the Loudoun Economic Development Advisory Commission;
  • Ann Flam, a former staff member to a U.S. Congresswoman, law clerk to a federal judge and a practicing attorney known for her communication and development talents;
  • Vivian Hu Lewis, president and founding owner of GeoConcepts, a civil engineering firm recognized on INC magazine’s Inc. 500 list and was the Leesburg New Business of the Year, Leesburg Entrepreneur of the Year, and the Virginia Department of Transportation’s Disadvantaged Business of the Year;
  • Todd Pearson, a senior executive at BF Saul Company and serves on the board of RED, Inc., is the chairman of the Loudoun Economic Development Advisory Commission, co-chaired Loudoun’s Nighttime Economy Ad Hoc Committee, is a member of the 2030 Group, and is an active member of the National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts, International Council of Shopping Centers, and Urban Land Institute.

In addition to the new trustees, Mary Frances Forcier and Sally Coombs Travis were re-elected to second terms, bringing the total number of trustees to 12.

The Loudoun Museum is a 501(c) (3) nonprofit dedicated to the preservation of Loudoun’s history and conservation of the county’s historical artifacts. The museum is chartered to acquire artifacts, curate collections and create interpretive programs that convey meaningful stories with the power to educate, inspire and transform individuals of all ages, and the local, regional, national and international communities and constituents that we serve.

Leave a Reply