County supervisors on April 10 will hold a public hearing on whether they should adopt a $100 tax on motor vehicles without a current Virginia license plate, and a $250 penalty for owners who don’t register their vehicles.
By comparison, first-time registration and emissions testing with the state costs approximately $88.
According to Commissioner of the Revenue Robert S. Wertz Jr., there are about 800 vehicles registered with the Commissioner of the Revenue that do not display Virginia plates and are not otherwise exempt under state or federal law.
The $250 fine would apply to cars that have not been registered in Loudoun after 60 days, the county’s requirement for registering a vehicle after moving here.
Cars in a dump, an automobile graveyard, being held by government authorities, or belonging to an active duty member of the armed forces would be exempt under the proposed ordinance.
The public hearing begins at 6 p.m.