Three on Ballot for Leesburg’s Special Election

Leesburg residents will have a choice of three candidates to fill the vacant Town Council seat during the Feb. 6 special election.

Loudoun County General Registrar Judy Brown confirmed that Joshua Thiel, Gwen Pangle, and Neil Steinberg all turned in the required paperwork to be placed on the ballot by today’s 5 p.m. deadline.

It will be the second time on a council ballot for both Thiel and Pangle. Thiel was the runner-up in the most recent Town Council special election in November, finishing second to Vanessa Maddox. Pangle finished 42 votes shy of a council seat in the November 2016 council election, finishing in fourth place behind Ken Reid, Ron Campbell and Tom Dunn. While it will be the first time on a council ballot for Steinberg, it’s not his first foray into running for a council seat. Steinberg had announced his intentions to run in November’s special election, but decided to withdraw ahead of the filing deadline and wait to run in 2018.

The three candidates are competing to serve the three years remaining on Reid’s council term. His resignation from the council, 11 months into his four-year term, became effective Dec. 1. The victor Feb. 6 is expected to be sworn in within that following week, before the council’s Feb. 12-13 set of meetings.


Leave a Reply