Randall Elected Vice Chair of NVTA

Loudoun County Chairwoman Phyllis J. Randall has been unanimously elected Vice Chairwoman of the Northern Virginia Transportation Authority. Randall was chosen for the position on Oct. 13 by fellow members of NVTA.

The NVTA is chaired by Prince William County Supervisor Martin E. Nohe.

Randall said in a statement that improving the region’s transportation network and congestion problems are important to her. “I appreciate the bipartisan support I received from NVTA members and I look forward to representing Loudoun in this leadership role and working with all NVTA members to find regionally significant solutions for Northern Virginia,” Randall wrote.

The NVTA is responsible for long-range transportation project planning, prioritization and funding for regional transportation projects in Northern Virginia, such as a recent vote to grant $20 million to a new interchange at the intersection of Battlefield Parkway and Rt. 7 in Leesburg, or another $20 million of NVTA money being spent to widen Belmont Ridge Road. The NVTA is also responsible for updating Northern Virginia’s long-range transportation plan, TransAction, and since 2014 has managed approximately $340 million annually in public funds for transportation projects designed to provide congestion relief throughout Northern Virginia.

Chairwoman Phyllis J. Randall (D-At Large) at a groundbreaking Tuesday, Sept. 27. (Renss Greene/Loudoun Now)
Chairwoman Phyllis J. Randall (D-At Large) at a groundbreaking Tuesday, Sept. 27 to widen Belmont Ridge Road, a project that includes $20 million in NVTA funding. (Renss Greene/Loudoun Now)

In addition to the NVTA, Randall represents the county on the Board of Directors of the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments, the Northern Virginia Regional Commission, the Dulles Area Transportation Association and the Route 28 Transportation Improvement District Commission.

Randall also serves on the Board’s Finance/Government Operations and Economic Development Committee, the Joint Board and School Board Committee, and the Transportation and Land Use Committee.

In addition, to Loudoun County, NVTA members include Arlington, Fairfax, and Prince William counties, and the cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, and Manassas Park.

Leave a Reply