Major School Attendance Boundary Changes Coming

Next week, the Loudoun County School Board will begin an extensive review of elementary and middle school attendance zone boundaries that could impact students at as many as 44 schools in eastern, central and parts of western Loudoun.

The changes to attendance zones are needed ahead of the opening of a middle school (MS-9) and high school (HS-11) in Brambleton. Plus, boundary lines in the Leesburg area will be changed to address projected overcrowding at  Evergreen Mill Elementary School as a result of changes to the attendance map adopted by the School Board in December. Also as part of this process, the board will reassign students who live in the Hillsboro Elementary attendance zone in preparation for the school’s conversion to a charter school. Students who attend that school this academic year will be eligible for seats if they want to attend Hillsboro Charter Academy, which opens in August.

As part of the boundary change process, the board will hold several work sessions and public hearings.

The meeting schedule for the central Loudoun/Leesburg attendance changes is as follows: Public hearings, 6:30 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 18, Thursday, Feb. 25, Thursday, March 3, and Monday, March 14; boundary map adoption, 6:30 p.m. Tuesday, March 29.

The meeting schedule for the Hillsboro conversation and attendance changes is: Public hearing and adoption, 6:30 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 23.

The meeting schedule for attendance changes related to MS-7 and HS-11 is: Public hearings, 6:30 p.m. Monday, March 28, Monday, April 4, Monday, April 11; boundary map adoption, 6:30 p.m. Tuesday, May 10.

The public hearings will be held at the school administration building, 21000 Education Court in Ashburn.

Students at the following schools could be impacted: Hillsboro, Mountain View, Ball’s Bluff, Catoctin, Cool Spring, Evergreen Mill, Frances Hazel Reid, Frederick Douglass, Kenneth W. Culbert, John W. Tolbert Jr., Leesburg, Lucketts, Sycolin Creek, Hillside, Mill Run, Ashburn, Discovery, Dominion Trail, Aldie, Arcola, Buffalo Trail, Pinebrook, Creighton’s Corner, Legacy, Rosa Lee Carter, Cedar Lane, Sanders Corner, Newton-Lee, Seldens Landing and Steuart W. Weller elementary schools; Eagle Ridge, Farmwell Station, Mercer, Belmont Ridge, Stone Hill, Trailside and J. Michael Lunsford middle schools; Briar Woods, Broad Run, John Champe, Riverside, Rock Ridge, Stone Bridge and Freedom high schools.

[email protected]

Leave a Reply